Konmari Method, Eviction And World Book Day

Decluttering was never supposed to be so complicated.

Long before I had ever come across the ‘Konmari‘ method to organise clutter, I had always stuck to the idea of keeping the items that were of sentimental value and trashing anything that had not been touched in over a year.

Sounds simple, right?

Wrong!

pexels-photo-185764.jpeg

I had a large pile of books that were staring me in the face, waiting anxiously for their turn to be permanently evicted from the bookshelf and tossed into the rejection bin.

I tried to put on a poker face and quickly flipped through a musty looking book which had lost its former glory.

The front cover had been torn off and the oil-stained fingerprints that dotted each page gave me every reason to toss it away.

However, I couldn’t.

In ‘The life-changing magic of tidying up’, author Marie Kondo advises her readers to ‘Keep only those things that speak to your heart. Then take the plunge and discard all the rest’.

When you are faced with an eviction and the prospects of living in a shoddy bedsit, you have no other choice but to play a vicious and merciless game of ‘Chopping board’.

In other words, my four-wheel suitcase only had room for two books and so I had to say goodbye to the rest.

I could let go of the three-inch heels and the flimsy party outfits, but saying ‘Au Revoir’ to my books was like undergoing deliverance at the hands of a heavy-handed Deliverance minister.

I was undoubtedly severing a soul tie that had been formed with an endless pile of ruffled pages, folded corners and the beloved food stains and marks which were odd reminders of events that had happened in times past.

Looking back, I thank God for my eviction as I would later find peace and joy from a minimalistic lifestyle. I have learned how to live within my means and how to not place too much value on inanimate objects.

pexels-photo-55660.jpeg

I am thankful for E-book readers such as Kindle for giving me the chance to safely store my new collection of books, even if it means I don’t get to bury my nose into freshly printed pages and inhale that heavenly scent.

Please don’t mock me, it’s a bookworm thing!

In honour of World Book Day, I thought that I  would share with you a random list of just a few of my all time favourite fiction and non-fiction books.

  1. On Black Sisters Street by Chika Unigwe
  2. Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri
  3. Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri
  4. A Thousand Years Of Good Prayers by Yi Yun Li
  5. Half Of A Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  6. Ghana Must Go by Taiye Selasi
  7. Armature by Chrissie Gittens
  8. Collected Poems Of Langston Hughes
  9. There Are No Children Here by Alex Kotlowitz
  10. The 7 Habits Of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey
  11. The Friends by Rosa Guy
  12. No More Sheets by Juanita Bynum
  13. Waiting To Exhale by Terry Mcmillan
  14. The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
  15. The Jolly Postman by Allan Ahlberg (yes, this childhood classic made it to this list, bruh!)
  16. Anastasia Krupnick – The Girl Who Thinks For Herself by Lois Lowry
  17. The Rise And Fall Of A Yummy Mummy by Polly Williams
  18. Everyday A Friday by Joel Osteen
  19. Ugly by  Constance Briscoe
  20. Rude Girls by Vanessa Walters

 

Let me know what book has got you up all night! Please comment down below! Don’t forget to like, follow and share with others

Leave a Reply

