How To Love The Neighbours From Hell

 

“And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength.’ This is the first commandment. And the second, like it, is this: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these” – Mark 12:30-31 (NKJV)

 

I love my neighbours.

Ok, that’s not entirely true.

I’m still asking God for the grace to fall in love with their music collection and ear curdling loudspeakers.

There have been countless times that I’ve acted like a feral old lady with a broomstick in my hand, banging it against my ceiling to no avail.

Then there has been the side-eye from hell that I’ve used against them more times than I can count.

Of course, not face to face, but in such a snooty fashion such as behind the voile curtains or through the blurry peephole on my front door.

l2xbjoq24l4nw

I am guilty of being bitter and allowing strife to fester in my heart. And, although I have a right to be angry; when I gave my life to Jesus Christ, I relinquished the right to be vengeful.

I’m sure there is a divine purpose to their noise pollution and I pray that my nerves will adjust to their 24 hours a day music escapades.

Anyways, shady rants aside, maybe I’ll wake up one day and hear a foot stompin’ song being played that will actually make my hips wiggle, just like the tune I heard pulsating through my walls the other day that made my legs jerk, just a little.

xt8qay7e9if38xkriy

Maybe I’m becoming immune to the grizzly bass, or even worse I could be losing it…

So, what do you do when the Landlord’s warnings fall on deaf ears?

Here is a suggestion of light hearted things you can do to keep your sanity and the neighbourly love alive…

1.Bake

cake-1227842_1280.jpg

Bake them a cake with the words ‘I Love my neighbours and I love the only ears that I will ever have’ iced on top.

2.Plug it

industrial-1636403_1280.jpg

Invest in industrial earplugs and keep them on standby.

3.Be Respectful

3ornkc7wqxmzbw5pai

The worse thing you can do is play a game of tick for tack by cranking up the volume of your Kirk Franklin songs during your 5 AM morning devotion!

4.Come Dine With Me

sgt03nx8u32zg

Do NOT invite them over for dinner if you still have REVENGE plastered over your heart. This is not a good idea to alter your Jollof rice recipe and replace the sweet peppers (Bell peppers) with TWENTY African scotch bonnets!

5.Glitterbomb

beautiful-1868321_1280.jpg

If you are going to invite them over, please don’t be a tad shady by sending them an invitation with a glitter bomb taped inside. Glitter goes EVERYWHERE and you don’t want to destroy your neighbour’s new carpets (cough cough).

6.Eye Check

Take the log out of your own eye. Truth be told, we are all guilty of being noisy to some degree. I’m sure the sound of my singing irritates them and be conscious of the fact that wooden or laminate flooring are not a neighbour’s best friend.

7.Be gracious

Living in a high rise flat means little to no privacy. The walls are horribly thin and every exotic ingredient that has ever entered my crock pot can be smelt as far as the communal stairwell. Have you ever smelt shaki or stockfish?

 8.Pray HARD!

Model isolated praying

Pray fire and brimstone prayers that will cause the walls and the ceilings to shake! They will either run away and move out of their flat at quick speed or even better, repent and reduce the volume to ZERO!

9.Smile

3ohfffyciraon0xe6a

Puhleese erase being shady, the side-eye, dirty look or blankety-blank-blank from your medulla oblongata. This is an opportunity for you to witness the love of Jesus Christ. A smile can go a long way where words cannot. In Romans 12:21, we are called to overcome evil with good. Your kind gestures may be what it takes for them to change their ways and be a little bit more conscientious.

CREDIT: All GIFs taken from: https://giphy.com/

 

Do you have any other tips to keep the neighbourly love alive? Please comment down below! Don’t forget to like, follow and share with others

2 thoughts on “How To Love The Neighbours From Hell

Leave a Reply

