Muse & Nuggets: I am precious

‘I am precious’.

I was choking back tears when I uttered the words that tasted foreign on my tongue and felt like a stranger on my lips. I reluctantly released the words that left me feeling vulnerable. At what point in my life did this noun, this beautiful adjective, ‘precious’, conjure up so much pain that seeped through my every being like bile? It was the word used to define and describe every other person, place or thing except for me. But it took being rejected, mistreated and taken for granted for me to re-evaluate my ‘love-hate’ relationship with being regarded as precious.

“You shall also be a crown of glory in the hand of the Lord, and a royal diadem in the hand of your God”

– Isaiah 62:3 (NKJV)

I realized that my inability to enforce healthy boundaries in all facets of my social relationships was due to my failure to recognize that I was and I am precious. My rostrum of poor decision making and callous commitments were a reflection of how much I didn’t love myself. I exchanged wisdom for fear, my self-worth for worthlessness. As a result of my inability to understand how precious I was in the eyes of God, I constantly compromised my personal beliefs and values for others acceptance.  

Today, right where you are utter the words that your very being has been waiting to hear. And once you have spoken those words into your life, watch, wait and see the very manifestation of the person you were designed to be.

Leave a Reply

